new classic

Emerging Classics: albums still regularly listened to, in the last decade or so

It’s all well and good to list your top 10 of whatever year it is, but when do we list top 10s for the last two or three? When do we list those albums we still return to, even several years later?

Never, baby. I’m innovating, yet again.

Not talking about classic albums. Everyone’s gonna think Master of Puppets or Vol. 4 or whatever; I don’t mean those. No desert island records. I mean, what records are you still regularly listening to that came out in, say, the last 8 to 10 years? (But NOT counting this year.)

I’m using regular listening to mean “at least once a month.”

Here’s mine:

Cynic, Traced in Air
Shrinebuilder, Shrinebuilder
Behemoth, Evangelion
Pelican, What We All Come to Need
Goatsnake, Flower of Disease
The Devil and the Sea, Heart vs. Spine
Zoroaster, Voice of Saturn
3 Inches of Blood, Here Waits Thy Doom and Fire Up the Blades
Acid King, III
Left Lane Cruiser, any
YOB, The Great Cessation

YOURS ARE…?

12 comments

  1. There’s not too much to get excited about so far this year really. Hopefully the second half of the year will make up for it. I’ve got my top 10 emerging classics posted up now – although there is little to surprise regular readers of MDG. On the other hand your list DID contain a few surprises, ie Cynic, Behemoth and 3 Inches of Blood.

    1. Behemoth to me is everything Morbid Angel never really turned out to be: literate yet fierce anti-establishment black/ death metal. Evangelion (especially the drums) gets better with each listen, and Cynic is what I think all “fusion” metal aspires to me: intricate and moving without being boring. 3 Inches of Blood is just fun, unrepentant traditional metal.

      Yeah, sadly I don’t know if there’s anything new that I’ll actually be listening to in a year. Northless or Indian, maybe, but that’s a big maybe….

  2. Yeah, maybe this year I’ll do an “albums I’ll probably be listening to in a couple of years” list, regardless of how many there are in total. At this point in 2011, I doubt there would be 10.

  3. Yes. I’m always keenly aware when compiling year-end lists that they don’t reflect even half of what I listened to overall. I’m going to have to have a little think about this and post a proper response…

  4. Totally forgot Evangelion, but should be listening to it. Also, Sleep’s Dopesmoker, and Eyehategod’s Dopesick.

Leave a Reply

