Badlands! s/t and Voodoo Highway

So, there are three (if I had to reduce it to the absolute minimum) guitarists who have had the most influence over my playing style in the last 25 years or so: James Hetfield (downpicking and a shitload of right-hand stength), Tony Iommi (downtuning and minor/ dimished riffs) and Jake E. Lee (no reverb, southern/country funk).

And, by “Jake E. Lee” I mean his tenure in Badlands (not the Ozzy Osbourne stuff): even though his Badlands album debut came out in 1989, and the follow-up Voodoo Highway two years later, I still think of them as fairly recent. I’ m old.

There’s obviously a Jimi Hendrix and Led Zep influence on all these tunes (and arguably a Stevie Ray Vaughn one as well), but there’s also something unmistakably Jake about both the two Badlands albums: a minimal-gain, no reverb (still pretty unusual), earthy psychedelic/blues riff-oriented “ROCK”-ness to the whole thing.

The instrumental “Jade’s Song,” from the first self-titled LP, is still my standard of instrumentals, and the primary riff in “High Wire” is my standard for riffs. Maybe it’s something unique to me, but Jake E. Lee indisputably made me the musician I am today, for better or worse. My first “real” guitar was even a Charvel, and I even played it well below my waist– just like Jake.

Anyway, both releases are not available as MP3s, but Mediafire might be able to accomodate you.

In the meantime, dig the rehearsal footage for “Devil’s Stomp”: even that is badass (especially when the riff kicks in at 1:17).

Leave a Reply

